Skip to content
Peep & Pen

Stage 2 — weeks 4 to 8

Automatic coop doors, ranked on what the makers publish

This is the one piece of chicken gear that buys back an hour of your life a week. It is also the one where a failure means an open coop at night.

By Scooter M.·Published September 1, 2026

The open pop door of a chicken coop with a ramp

The short answer

Pick on three published figures: the operating temperature range, the battery life, and whether you need a whole door or an opener for the pop hole you already have. Run-Chicken publishes about a year on two AA cells, Omlet publishes an IPX6 waterproof rating and a tested range of -4 F to 150 F, and ChickenGuard publishes -4 F to +140 F with a three-year warranty.

An automatic door is the single highest-value convenience purchase in backyard chicken keeping, because the alternative is being physically present at dusk every day for years. It is also the purchase where failure is most consequential: a door that does not close is an open coop all night.

We are not going to out-test the sites that install these on real coops and monitor them for months. What we can do is put every published figure side by side, which nobody seems to have done.

Everything the three makers publish

Published specifications, side by side. 'Not published' means the maker does not state it.
Run-Chicken T50Omlet Smart AutodoorChickenGuard Pro
TypeComplete door and frameComplete door and frameOpener; you supply the door
Opening size8 x 10 in9.5 x 14.3 inYour existing pop hole
Power2 x AA4 x AA, or mains4 x AA, or DC 9-12 V
Battery lifeAbout 1 yearUp to 6 monthsNot published
TemperatureNot published on the product pageTested -4 F to 150 F-4 F to +140 F
Weather ratingPowder-coated aluminumIPX6 waterproof casingWeatherproof (unrated)
Lift capacityn/a (integrated door)n/a (integrated door)2 kg / 4 lb
ModesLight sensor, app offsetsLight sensor or schedule, appLight, timer, manual, DualSafe
Obstruction safetyAnti-pinch stops and reversesSensors prevent closureNot published
WarrantyLifetime support, no termNot published3 years

How to read that table

Battery life is the daily-life spec. Run-Chicken publishes about a year on two AA cells; Omlet publishes up to six months on four. Both are fine, but the Omlet figure is for a WiFi-connected device, and Omlet notes that app responsiveness improves on mains power — so the smart features cost you power. If your coop has no outlet, that is a real consideration.

The temperature figures are what decide a northern purchase. Omlet publishes a tested band of -4 F to 150 F and ChickenGuard publishes -4 F to +140 F, both of which are usable claims. Run-Chicken describes design for “heat, cold, snow and icing conditions” on its product page without stating a range there, which is a weaker form of the same claim.

Only Omlet publishes an actual standard. IPX6 is a testable ingress rating; “weatherproof” is a word. That is the single most credible weather-resistance claim in this comparison.

Door or opener is a structural decision. The T50 and the Omlet are complete doors with their own frames, which means cutting an opening to their published size. The ChickenGuard Pro is an opener that lifts an existing door on a cord — it fits whatever hole you already have, but only up to its published 4 lb lift, and you now have a cord and pulley outdoors in freezing weather.

The clearance trap

The T50 publishes a full open height of 24 inches. That is not the door size — it is how much vertical space the mechanism needs when the door is all the way up. A coop wall with eighteen inches above the pop hole cannot take it, and this is the specification people discover after unboxing. Measure before ordering.

Heads up: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes a ranking, and we take no payment for placement. The full version.

The short answer

The short list

Ranked on the published rubric. Every row jumps to that product's full write-up below; the button goes straight to Amazon.

#PickBest forKey specScorePrice
1
Score8.7

Our pick

Run-Chicken

Model T50 Automatic Coop Door

An aluminum, powder-coated door that runs a published year on two AA cells and reverses itself when it meets resistance — the whole unit, not an opener bolted to a door you supply.

An aluminum door on two AA batteries8 x 10 in opening8.7of 10
2
Score8.4

Omlet

Smart Automatic Chicken Coop Door

The only door here that publishes an IP rating and a tested temperature range at both ends, with a WiFi app that answers the question every keeper asks at 10 p.m.: did it actually shut?

Checking the door from indoorsIPX6, tested -4 F to 150 F8.4of 10
3
Score7.7

ChickenGuard

Pro Automatic Door Opener

An opener rather than a door: it lifts up to four pounds on a cord, runs on batteries or mains, and publishes a temperature range down to minus four Fahrenheit with a three-year warranty behind it.

Retrofitting the pop door you already have-4 F to +140 F7.7of 10

#ad No live price feed on this build yet, so every button reads “check price” rather than showing a figure we cannot stand behind. Scores are our own published rubric, not customer ratings.

Score8.7no photo yet

#1 · An aluminum door on two AA batteries

Run-Chicken Model T50 Automatic Coop Door

An aluminum, powder-coated door that runs a published year on two AA cells and reverses itself when it meets resistance — the whole unit, not an opener bolted to a door you supply.

Who it is for. Somebody who wants one box with everything in it, and who would rather change two AA cells once a year than manage a charging cable.

Published specifications

Opening dimensions
8 in x 10 in
Door dimensions
9.5 in x 14 in
Full open height
24 in
Power
2 x AA batteries
Battery life
Typical battery life of approximately 1 year
Construction
Aluminum door, powder-coated surface for weather resistance
Opening trigger
Opens 15 minutes after daybreak, closes 15 minutes after dusk; offsets adjustable up to 60 minutes via the app
Safety
Anti-pinch mode stops and reverses the door when resistance is detected
Weight
1.8 lb

Source: Run-Chicken, T50 product page (run-chicken.com), retrieved 2026-09-01

Rubric — 8.7 / 10

  • Capacity honesty8/10 · weight 26%
  • Documentation8/10 · weight 24%
  • Build and weather9/10 · weight 20%
  • Running cost10/10 · weight 15%
  • Daily use9/10 · weight 15%

What it gets right

  • Aluminum rather than plastic, powder-coated, and the maker says so explicitly rather than describing it as durable
  • A whole door and frame, so there is no separate pop door to build and align
  • One year on two AA cells is the lowest published power demand of the three doors here
  • Anti-pinch reversal is published as a mechanism, not implied by a marketing phrase

What it costs you

  • 24 inches of full-open height means you need real clearance above the opening; a door in a low coop wall will not fit
  • The 8 x 10 inch opening is fixed — if your existing pop hole is bigger you are cutting new woodwork
  • Run-Chicken publishes lifetime customer support but no specific warranty term
  • The published operating temperature range is not stated on the product page itself

Skip it if. You have less than about two feet of coop wall above the pop hole. This door needs the height and there is no low-profile version.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price feed yet, so no number is shown rather than a stale one. How this is funded.

Score8.4no photo yet

#2 · Checking the door from indoors

Omlet Smart Automatic Chicken Coop Door

The only door here that publishes an IP rating and a tested temperature range at both ends, with a WiFi app that answers the question every keeper asks at 10 p.m.: did it actually shut?

Who it is for. Somebody within router range who wants to stop walking down the yard in the dark to check a door.

Published specifications

Door frame
Width 1 ft 7.25 in, height 1 ft 4.5 in, depth 2.25 in
Opening
Width 9.5 in, height 1 ft 2.3 in
Control panel
5.5 in W x 5.2 in H x 1.6 in D; 6 ft 6 in cable
Power
4 x AA batteries, up to 6 months; optional mains cable
Tested temperature
Tested to work as low as -4 F and as high as 150 F
Weatherproofing
Waterproof casing to IPX6 standards
Construction
Shatterproof ABS
Modes
Light sensor (dawn/dusk) or scheduled open and close times
Safety
Sensors prevent door closure if an obstruction is detected
Connectivity
WiFi (works best within 30 ft of a router); Alexa and Google Assistant compatible

Source: Omlet, Smart Automatic Chicken Coop Door product page (omlet.us), retrieved 2026-09-01

Rubric — 8.4 / 10

  • Capacity honesty8/10 · weight 26%
  • Documentation9/10 · weight 24%
  • Build and weather8/10 · weight 20%
  • Running cost8/10 · weight 15%
  • Daily use9/10 · weight 15%

What it gets right

  • A published IPX6 rating, which is a testable standard rather than the word weatherproof
  • The widest published tested temperature band here, at -4 F to 150 F
  • The app tells you the door closed, which is the actual anxiety this product exists to remove
  • Obstruction sensing is published as preventing closure, not just reversing after contact

What it costs you

  • 6 months of battery life against Run-Chicken's published year, and the app responsiveness is better on mains — so the convenience feature costs you power
  • WiFi within 30 ft of a router rules out coops at the end of a long yard unless you extend the network
  • ABS plastic rather than the T50's aluminum
  • Omlet publishes no warranty term on the product page

Skip it if. Your coop is out of WiFi range, or you would rather not have a coop door that depends on a home network at all.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price feed yet, so no number is shown rather than a stale one. How this is funded.

Score7.7no photo yet

#3 · Retrofitting the pop door you already have

ChickenGuard Pro Automatic Door Opener

An opener rather than a door: it lifts up to four pounds on a cord, runs on batteries or mains, and publishes a temperature range down to minus four Fahrenheit with a three-year warranty behind it.

Who it is for. Anybody with a coop and a pop hole already cut, especially in a cold climate where the published -4 F rating is doing real work.

Published specifications

Lifting capacity
Lifts 2 kg / 4 lb
Power
4 x AA alkaline batteries, or mains DC 9-12 volts
Operating temperature
Works at -4 F to +140 F
Open/close modes
4 options: light sensor, timer, manual, or DualSafe
Warranty
3 year warranty as standard
Weatherproofing
Weatherproof; sold with an optional self-locking door kit

Source: ChickenGuard, Pro product page (chickenguard.com/product/pro), retrieved 2026-09-01

Rubric — 7.7 / 10

  • Capacity honesty8/10 · weight 26%
  • Documentation6/10 · weight 24%
  • Build and weather8/10 · weight 20%
  • Running cost9/10 · weight 15%
  • Daily use8/10 · weight 15%

What it gets right

  • A published operating range down to -4 F, which is the number that decides whether a door works in a northern January
  • Four open/close modes including a combined DualSafe option, where most competitors give you light sensor or timer and nothing else
  • Three-year warranty, the longest published of the doors here
  • Works on the pop hole you already cut, at whatever size it is

What it costs you

  • It is an opener, not a door — you supply or separately buy the door itself, which adds cost and an alignment job
  • 4 lb of lift is enough for a light aluminum or plywood door and not for a heavy one; weigh yours first
  • ChickenGuard does not publish battery life, dimensions or weight on the product page
  • A cord-and-pulley mechanism has more to go wrong and more to ice up than a rack-driven door

Skip it if. Your existing pop door is heavy, or you would rather not add a cord and pulley to an outdoor mechanism in freezing weather.

Check price on Amazon

#ad No live price feed yet, so no number is shown rather than a stale one. How this is funded.

FAQ

Questions people actually ask

Do automatic chicken coop doors work in cold weather?

The published figures say yes within a range: Omlet states its Smart Autodoor is tested from -4 F to 150 F, and ChickenGuard publishes -4 F to +140 F for the Pro. Run-Chicken describes the T50 as designed for heat, cold, snow and icing without stating a range on the product page, which is a weaker claim than a tested figure.

How long do automatic coop door batteries last?

Run-Chicken publishes typical battery life of approximately one year on two AA cells for the T50. Omlet publishes up to six months on four AA cells for the Smart Autodoor, and notes that app responsiveness is better on mains power. ChickenGuard does not publish a battery life figure for the Pro.

Should I buy a full door or just an opener?

A complete door and frame means cutting an opening to the maker's published size but gives you one integrated, tested mechanism. An opener fits whatever pop hole you already have and costs less, but adds a cord and pulley exposed to weather and caps out at its published lift — 4 lb for the ChickenGuard Pro.

Will an automatic door close on a chicken?

The better designs publish how they prevent it. Run-Chicken states an anti-pinch mode that stops and reverses the door when resistance is detected; Omlet states sensors that prevent the door closing if an obstruction is detected. ChickenGuard does not publish obstruction behavior for the Pro, which is worth weighing.

Where the numbers came from

Sources

Every figure cited on this page came from one of these documents. If one of them has changed since we read it, the number here is out of date and we would like to know.

Keep reading